Jun 19, 2024  
2022-2023 Graduate Catalog 
    
2022-2023 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

University Calendar for 2022-2023



For the Colleges of Arts and Sciences, Business, Engineering, and Nursing and Health Professions

Summer 2022

May 17 Tuesday Instruction begins
May 17 - June 24 Dates for Summer I courses
May 17 - August 5 Dates for full summer courses
May 20 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline to add or drop a Summer I course without a grade of W1
May 20 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline to add or drop a full summer course without a grade of W1
May 24 Tuesday 12:00 pm Deadline to request S/U grading for a Summer I course2
May 24 Tuesday 12:00 pm Deadline to request S/U grading for a full summer course2
May 30 Monday Memorial Day - No classes, University closed
June 3 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline to withdraw from a Summer I course with grade of W1
June 27 Monday 12:00 pm Deadline for faculty to report Summer I course grades
June 27 - August 5 Dates for Summer II courses
July 1 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline to add or drop a Summer II course without a grade of W1
July 4 - July 5 Academic Break - No classes, University closed July 4
July 6 Wednesday Classes resume
July 6 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to request S/U grading for a Summer II course2
July 15 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline to withdraw from a Summer II course with grade of W1
July 15 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline to withdraw from a full summer course with a grade of W1
August 1 Monday Deadline to submit a Graduation Application for graduate degrees to be conferred in December1
August 5 Friday Semester ends3
August 8 Monday 12:00 pm Deadline for faculty to report all grades

Fall 2022

August 24 Wednesday Instruction begins
August 24 - October 12 Dates for first half short courses
August 24 - December 16 Dates for full fall courses
August 31 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to register for fall semester1
August 31 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to add or drop a first half short course without a grade of W1
August 31 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to add or drop a full fall course without grade of W1
August 31 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to request S/U grading for a first half short course2
August 31 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to request to audit a course2
September 5 Monday Labor Day - No classes, University closed
September 21 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to withdraw from a first half short course with grade of W1
September 21 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to request S/U grading for a full fall course2
September 21 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to request course intensification2
September 30 Friday Deadline to submit a Curriculum Change to facilitate registration2
October 1 Saturday Deadline to submit a Graduation Application for undergraduate degrees to be conferred in May or August1
October 13 - October 14 Fall Break - No classes, University open
October 14 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline for faculty to report first half short course grades
October 17 - December 9 Dates for second half short courses
October 21 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline to add or drop a second half short course without a grade of W1
October 21 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline to request S/U grading for a second half short course2
TBA Advance registration for Spring Semester1
October 26 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to withdraw from a full fall course with grade of W1
November 1 Tuesday Deadline to submit a Graduation Application for graduate degrees to be conferred in May1
November 11 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline to withdraw from a second half short course with grade of W1
November 19 -November 27 Thanksgiving Break - No classes, University closed November 23-25
November 28 Monday Classes resume
December 2 Friday Last day for tests in courses of 3 credits or more
December 2 Friday Deadline to request a final examination date change
December 9 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline to officially withdraw from the University for the Fall Semester1
December 9 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline to request a registration change
December 9 Friday Instruction ends
December 10 Saturday Reading day
December 12 Monday Final examinations begin
December 12 Monday 12:00 pm Deadline for faculty to report second half short course grades
December 16 Friday Final examinations end
Semester ends3
December 18 Sunday Commencement Ceremony
December 19 Monday 12:00 pm Deadline for faculty to report all grades

Spring 2023

January 11 Wednesday Instruction begins
January 11 - March 1 Dates for first half short courses
January 11 - May 12 Dates for full spring courses
January 16 Monday Observation of Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday
January 18 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to register for spring semester1
January 18 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to add or drop a first half short course without a grade of W1
January 18 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to add or drop a full spring course without grade of W1
January 18 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to request S/U grading for a first half short course2
January 18 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to request to audit a course2
February 1 Wednesday Deadline to submit a Graduation Application for graduate degrees to be conferred in August1
February 8 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to withdraw from a first half short course with grade of W1
February 8 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to request S/U grading for a full spring course2
February 8 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to request course intensification2
February 24 Friday Deadline to submit a Curriculum Change to facilitate registration2
March 3 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline for faculty to report first half short course grades
March 4 - March 19 Spring Break - No classes, University open
March 20 Monday Classes resume
March 20 - May 5 Dates for second half short courses
March 24 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline to add or drop a second half short course without a grade of W1
March 24 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline to request S/U grading for a second half short course2
March 29 Wednesday 12:00 pm Deadline to withdraw from a full spring course with a grade of W1
April 1 Saturday Deadline to submit a Graduation Application for undergraduate degrees to be conferred in December1
TBA Advance registration for Summer and Fall Semesters1
April 7 Friday Good Friday - No classes, University closed
April 27 Thursday Academic Celebration - No classes, University open
April 28 Friday Last day for tests in courses of 3 credits or more
April 28 Friday Deadline to request a final examination date change
May 5 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline to officially withdraw from the University for the Spring Semester1
May 5 Friday 12:00 pm Deadline to request a registration change
May 5 Friday Instruction ends
May 6 Saturday Reading day
May 8 Monday Final examinations begin
May 8 Monday 12:00 pm Deadline for faculty to report second half short course grades
May 12 Friday Final examinations end
Semester ends3
May 13 - May 14 Commencement Ceremony
May 15 Monday 12:00 pm Deadline for faculty to report all grades

1 A form for this purpose is available online through DataVU
2 A form for this purpose is available online at valpo.edu/registrar/forms
3 The university is open on weekdays between academic terms, except on university holidays as defined by the Office of Human Resources.